Sometimes I wonder…

…why I even bother with blogging.

Seriously. I am someone who has lots of opinions about lots of different things, but I never come on here to put them out there. I guess it’s probably because I know that whatever I think or say about something is not likely to have any kind of real impact on anything, so I’ll stick to impacting my small non-internet circle of friends and family. My main reason for even having a blog was so that I could update said friends and family with anything new in our lives.

All that said, let’s get on with the updates…

Last update ended with the birth of our sweet John, and life hasn’t been TOO eventful since then. Dylan turned 12 this past summer and we FINALLY got to have his Harry Potter party. To be completely honest, it was as much my party as it was his. I’ve been invested in the series since 2001, which was before Dylan was born, so I was super excited to get it going. It didn’t turn out exactly the way I had hoped, but it was also the first party I’d planned since having John, and he was still nursing so I had to work around his schedule. We had Bertie Bott’s every flavour beans, chocolate frogs, pepper imps, acid pops, Butterbeer, Elf made wine, pumpkin pasties, treacle tarts, deathly hallows cookies, a potions table, and a snitch cake! Truthfully, if anyone would have been willing to dress up, I would have LOVED it. The only food that didn’t go over well was treacle tart. But that was a-okay. The rest was great. The best part about the party was that Dylan loved it.

We had his party in July, so it wasn’t too long before we had to get everyone ready for school to start. Dylan went into the 7th grade this year and Bella started Kindergarten. The night before school started, she got a little nervous. She was really worried that people wouldn’t like her. I don’t know if you’ve met her or not, but you can’t NOT like her. She is such a people person, just like her daddy! It was an unfounded fear, of course, and she is friends with everyone in her class.

Eowyn turned 3 in the fall and we just had a family party. I had thought about doing a princess themed party because she loves princesses, but decided it would just be best to do family only. We had a few friends come over a week or so later and they played and had fun.

I moved both the girls to a dance studio over here, so I don’t have to make that drive on Mondays anymore. With Bella starting school, I knew that the only time we’d be able to get them in classes would be after school, and I didn’t want to have to deal with that in addition to making dinner plans. They love, love, love their dance classes, and I love, love, love this studio. I am super happy that I picked this place instead of the other ones. It is just the perfect fit for us.

We are still very active in church, and we still make that drive back over twice on Sundays and once on Wednesdays. It may seem like a lot, but to me it makes sense. For me, church is not just a building. It’s not just a place I go to worship God. Yes, it is those things, but it’s the people who make the difference. I know there are some who can go to any church and not have any problems just jumping right in. Well, if you know me, you know how impossible that is. It takes time for me to feel comfortable enough to do that. We’ve been going to this church for almost 4 years now. I became a member shortly after Eowyn was born and Jack just became a member over the summer. We just feel like we “fit” there. Church is a family and it takes time to really feel like you are a part of that kind of family, so we’ve never desired to move our church attendance to one over here in our new area. The benefits that we get from being part of this family far outweigh the drive back and forth.

I became Children’s Choir director this year, so that’s been an adjustment. I love it so much, but it has been hard for me to juggle this, plus adult choir responsibilities, Sunday School class, and a nursing baby! I’m making it work, but it’s not easy!

Speaking of nursing babies, I am really pretty surprised that John is still nursing exclusively at 10.5 months of age! I set out with the plan to nurse him as long as he wanted to nurse and if he went a whole year, great. I can honestly say that I really didn’t expect him to go a whole year, but it’s shaping up to do just that! He does eat some baby food and some real food when I cook, and he does usually eat 2-3 times a day on that stuff, but he still very much loves to nurse. I do want to do the whole baby-led weaning thing, but I am personally ready for him to be done. I have no problems with continuing until he’s a year old, that way I don’t have to worry with supplemental formula or anything, but I do hope he’ll be more inclined to wean by then. My MIL has offered to baby sit (and does really want to do so) the kids for us on many occasions since John’s been born, but with him nursing and absolutely refusing pacifiers and bottles, it’s been a no-go. I got a brand new Medela pump after he was born and have only used it a couple of times.

Bella had her 6th birthday party in January and if you are aware of any of the trending Disney items, you’ll know that she most definitely wanted a Frozen party. Well, if you haven’t seen the movie yet, you must be living under a rock… or you could be my husband. I honestly can’t believe that he hasn’t seen it just by being in the same house as our daughters! Anyway, it is a SUPER cute and funny movie and has completely taken over the Disney realm. I honestly don’t think they were expecting it to be as big of a hit as it has been. So the party was really fun to bring together. I’ll post pictures another time, but we had sandwiches (we finish each other’s sandwiches!), frozen hearts, Olaf noses and arms, frost bites, glacier juice, melted snow, and some random candies, all finished off with a frozen cake that had ice coming out of it. It was definitely my most favorite cake to have made! She had a blast at the party with her friends and it was a super fun day.

Backing up a little… In December, Jack got some unsettling news that his company was going to be terminating his position at the end of that month and he would be getting laid off. They were going through some restructuring and didn’t have the money to keep his particular position open. That was a hard pill to swallow. In all honesty, they were not ugly about anything and, in fact, were more than willing to do what they could to help him find a new job and even kept him on officially until the beginning of January so that we would be able to keep insurance for another month. That was way more than other companies would do. So, we were disappointed in it, but we had to just do what we could. Since the official termination date, Jack has been constantly putting himself out there to find new employment. God has been faithful to take care of our needs the whole time. Yesterday (March 1), Jack left to head to training in his new job that he starts today. We are ever so thankful to God and to everyone who lifted us up in prayer during this time. This new job will be a transition. I believe that he will be successful, but it will be a bit different from his previous employers so there will be a learning curve. Please continue to pray for him as he makes this transition and for us as we prepare for some weeks without him while he is training.

We haven’t had too many other changes or upheavals lately. John will be a year old in April and I am having a hard time believing that. I know that it’s been that long, but it just doesn’t seem like it’s been that long already. Dylan started taking Tae Kwon Do classes last week and to no one’s surprise, he loves them. I really wish we’d gotten him in one earlier. It’s right up his alley!

One last thing before I close the updating… I would be ever so grateful if you all could keep us in your prayers for some changes we are thinking of making with Dylan and Bella’s school next year. It will require us all to keep a better schedule, which is not a bad thing, but the change could be difficult to get used to for a while. I am hopeful that we’ll see the results that we want though, and that will make it worth any hardship.

Maybe also pray that I get better about updating on here. Lord knows I could stand to be better organized with all of this!

Leave a Reply

