Mother’s Day

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day. I’d like to take a few minutes and just say a public “thank you” to all the moms of the world. This job is hard. Much harder than they let on, but the rewards are the best kind. It’s important that we also remember to thank the other influential women in our lives. While this day is technically about mothers, there tend to be a great many more women who play big roles in the lives of children, regardless of whether or not they are mothers.

I’m going to take some time here and give my biggest “thank you” to my mom. She may not be perfect, but she is the perfect mom for me.

Mom, I know you know that I love you, but I hope you know that any card that I give you for Mother’s Day can never fully convey the love and appreciation that I have for you. I know that I was probably not exactly the little girl that you had envisioned me to be when I was growing up. You were hoping I’d be the little girl who loved tea parties and baby dolls and other little girlie things, but I ended up being the one who hated party hats and dresses and pretty much doing any girlie thing that you ever wanted to try. I believe that your reward for dealing with that has come to you in the form of Bella, who loves every single girlie thing that I couldn’t stand when I was little! I know I was not a perfect child and I’m pretty sure that my stubborn attitude caused you a lot more grief than you let on. Rest assured, I’m probably going to pay for that one too. 🙂 haha… Even though I tended to be on the ornery side, you never stopped being the mom that cared. Through the things that I remember about my childhood, I can always look back and see that you were always there doing what you did to make sure I was taken care of and that I was being brought up in God’s ways. You always made sure that I knew what was right and what was wrong, even though I may not have always followed that path. And, when I faced a consequence that was life-changing, you were still there. I knew I had messed up, but I also knew that you still loved me and you would still be there to help me. I knew that my life would forever be different from what I had *thought* my plan was going to be, but I also knew that as long as I had your support, I would be able to get through it. Now that I’ve been “through it,” I realize how big of a sacrifice it was. That’s another thing that’s always been a point of appreciation for me, your willingness to drop what your are doing and be there for us when there is any real need. I know that it’s not an easy thing to do, but you do it anyway. There is no way I’d be able to list everything that you do or have done that cemented your status as “best mom ever” in my book, so I’ll just leave it at this:

Thank you for being the mom that was always annoyingly on my case about everything. I may not have liked it, but now that Dylan is getting older, I TOTALLY understand why you did it.

Thank you for always being the mom that always wanted to know how our day was.

Thank you for not being one of those “I told you so” moms.

Thank you for your emphasis on our education.

Thank you for always being vocal about your faith.

Thank you for being a special needs mom. Having lived with that for all of my life, I can say that I would fully love and cherish any life that God chooses to bless us with. You have been the mom that has fully embraced the “Welcome to Holland” lifestyle and I’ve learned so much from watching your example.

Thank you for being the support that I needed during the trying times before Dylan was born.

Thank you for being a loving and fun grandmother to my kids.

Thank you, thank you, and thank you a thousand times over, for never giving up on me and for always praying for me. I know I’ve made many, many mistakes in my life and my walk with God, but I can say with certainty that I am as steadfast in my faith and beliefs because of you. You have always tried to lead by example and nurture our beginning Christian relationships and seeing how you have always turned to God in times of joy AND pain and in times of trials has helped me form the strong faith in God that I have today.

I’ve spent a lot of this blog thanking my mom for all of the things she has done for me in my life, but my biggest “thank you” is reserved for God. God was the one who blessed me with such a mother. He knew what He was doing when He chose me for her. She has been the precisely right mother that I have needed in my life. I also want to thank God for the other “mothers” in my life – my Memaw and my Granny (who are wonderful grandmothers to me and great-grandmothers to my children), and my late Aunt Pam (who was the best 2nd mother anyone could ask for!). It’s no wonder I became such a strong-willed, independent person with all of these women looking out for me! 🙂 My last “thank you” to God is for this incredible blessing of Motherhood that He chose to bestow upon me. Though my journey into motherhood did not start the way I had intended, it has certainly worked out better than I could have imagined. I am SO thankful that God chose me to be their mother!

One thought on “Mother’s Day

  1. I am so humbled, Elizabeth,…..and so blessed. I love you dearly and anything I have done has been by the Grace of God; there were many days I had to pray “Please God, bless the mess, I’m trying”. Even though I feel like that I did alot right, there are so many things I wish I had done differently. As opportunities might arise to share insights with you, I pray you will ‘hear’ not a meddlesome mom, but ‘heart’ the meaning from one who loves you and wants the best for you and yours, so you might do this mothering better than I did…because those babies are worth the best you can give them. My joy now is watching you become a woman who loves God and her husband and being the Mom that you are. Happy Mother’s Day to you sweet daughter. Mom

Leave a Reply

