Totes Real Tuesday

I need to get back in the habit of blogging on a regular basis. I guess I just always feel like the stuff that’s gone on lately isn’t really worthy of blogging or whatever. I don’t really know….

Anyway, my friend Christy has started up blogging again and she decided to start this link party that she’s calling Totes Real Tuesdays. Basically, the idea is to take a few minutes and blog some “naked truths” about yourself, your life lately, or whatever. There is always some dissatisfaction in our lives about how we don’t feel like we are healthy enough, pretty enough, mom enough, crafty enough and all sorts of other things and this link party is a way for us to let go of all the things we feel we “have” to be, even if it’s just for those few minutes, and be real with everyone. So, here’s my “Totes Real Tuesday” for ya:

1. It’s been over two weeks since I actually “cooked” anything (and spaghetti doesn’t count for me because it’s SOOOOOO easy to fix). The hubs is OOT for his 4th week in a row this week and I don’t do any cooking during the week when he’s gone. The only time I cook anything is usually on Friday night when he comes in and Saturday, and then maybe Sunday. But, this past weekend, I did spaghetti on Friday night and we were at my parents’ house on Saturday night and Sunday, so… no real cooking. I have conflicting feelings when I talk about this. Of course, I want to say that I cook and make sure my kids eat healthy meals all the time, but we’re being real here. I do like for my kids to eat healthy, but when the hubs is OOT, my only real concern is that they at least eat something that kind of matches the category (i.e. breakfast, lunch, dinner).

2. With all the cleaning I’ve done over the last couple of weeks, my house is probably cleaner than it has EVER been, save for the day it was bought (almost 6 years ago). I’m definitely not gonna lie about this one. I HATE to clean. Hate it. With a passion. I am usually so tired and un-energized, so I have to FORCE myself to do any cleaning. But, we would REALLY like to sell our house SOON, so I’ve had to bite the bullet and get stuff done. It has been hard, but the house is now clean enough that all I really have to do is daily maintenance. And you know, I think that’s why I have always hated cleaning. You’re NEVER done! Even if you save all your heavy stuff (sweeping, mopping, dusting, vacuuming) for one day, there is still cleaning that has to be done on a daily basis. There are always toys to pick up, clothes to put away, dishes to clean…. Ugh. I’m getting tired just thinking about it. Next topic!

3. I am so ready to be out of this house…. I loved this house when we first got married and moved in. We only had Dylan, so we didn’t have a need for anything bigger. We both knew we wanted to add to the family soon, but I guess we never really thought about how that would change the way things were organized in the house. This is a great house, but not for us anymore. It just doesn’t have enough of the living space that we need. I hate the market around our house right now. There is no way we’ll ever get back what we paid for it. Some of the houses around us are foreclosed and are being listed for amounts that are less than 75% of what our home cost when we bought it. It’s unbelievable to me. I know my house is worth more than the price at which they are listing the others. It makes me very upset, and I’ll just leave it at that.

I know that there is a LOT more that I could probably put in here, but I don’t really have all the time in the world right now. Now back to pretending that I’m the best, craftiest mom on the block!

One thought on “Totes Real Tuesday

  1. Thanks for linking up Sarah! Ugh, I HATE to clean too! It just never seems to get done. And there’s only one of me. Really, it should be a lot easier!!
    Here’s hoping that you get an offer on your house and you can move to something bigger and better soon.
    Thanks again for linking up!

Leave a Reply

