Late night ramblings…

Here I sit, on the eve of my first ever 5k and I should totally be asleep right now. I’m not tired though. I’ll feel it tomorrow, you can be sure of that, but I’m not tired now. My parents have all 3 of our kids (yikes!) and the hubs is sound asleep right now. I can’t blame him. He’s been up since like 3 this morning, so it’s perfectly alright. I have lots of thoughts running through my head. A lot of them have to do with all the madness in the world recently. Like, I just can’t believe (or rather, I find it hard to accept) that someone would actually place explosives at the Boston Marathon. I mean, really? And then, I find out that the suspects are of Russian descent? I don’t know if you’ve ever seen The Boondock Saints, but wowsers is this a good time to call in our buddies Connor and Murphy McManus! If you haven’t seen it, don’t rush out to find it. It’s actually not the greatest movie ever, but I’m one of those weirdos that loved it. Sean Patrick Flannery was pretty persuasive. πŸ™‚ Anyway, I just keep seeing all this bad stuff all over the place and today (or yesterday, since today is technically April 20) was the 18th anniversary of the bombing in Oklahoma City. I really have a hard time believing it was that long ago.

Also, though this is entirely unrelated in a human life manner, but in about 16-17 hours, tons of people will be gathered at Toomer’s Corner in Auburn to celebrate the long, long life of the two iconic oak trees, under whose branches have been countless celebrations of victories for the Auburn family. These trees have meant so much to every one who even remotely has ties to Auburn and though this celebration will be joyous, it will also be very sad. In January 2011, it was learned that some crazy person had taken out his anger on Auburn by poisoning those wonderful trees. Even though the agriculture department at the university worked long and hard to halt progress of the pesticide, it became clear that the trees could not be saved. So, they will be removing the two oak trees next week. The Auburn family has been called together for one last time to celebrate the memories and traditions that have been carried on beneath those beautiful branches. I wish I could say I was going to be there, but I cannot. I will be there in spirit, singing War Eagle the whole time.

Back to the other bad stuff though… As I thought about the OKC bombing, I remember sitting in school when it happened. I was only 13 years old at the time, so I didn’t really have any idea what was going on. I mean, I knew the basics and that it was bad, but it didn’t really AFFECT me, you know? Then years later when 9/11 happened, it was kind of similar, in that I was still young and didn’t fully grasp how it affected me, but I was old enough to know that it disturbed me. I hurt so badly for all of those people. I did some searching for the video of the Garth Brooks song “Change” that he did after the OKC bombing. Let me tell you, it has been YEARS since I’ve seen it, or even heard the song for that matter. I didn’t realize how much it would shake me. Obviously, I’m a mom now. I have 3 children, two of whom are exactly the ages of the children who were killed in that bombing. I had to stop and just breathe for a minute. I cannot even begin to imagine what it’s like for a parent to go through the loss of a child for ANY reason, much less one like that. But even as the dust settled from that tragedy, the people showed that they are bigger than any terrorist. They showed up to help search and rescue, they provided shelter, they provided food and clothing. On 9/11, they did the same thing. And now, after this tragedy in Boston, they are STILL there. As long as we can pull together and show LOVE to each other in our times of need, the terrorists will NEVER win. They may knock us down and even spit in our face, but we stand united. Our actions in helping our fellow man prove to the world that they will NOT change us.

One hand reaches out and pulls a lost soul from harm.

While a thousand more go unspoken for

And they say what good have you done by saving just this one?

It’s like whispering a prayer in the fury of a storm

And I hear them saying you’ll never change things

And no matter what you do it’s still the same thing

But it’s not the world that I am changing

I do this so this world will know that it will not change me

This heart still believes, that love and mercy still exist

While all the hatreds rage and so many say

That love is all but pointless in madness such as this

It’s like trying to stop a fire with the moisture from a kiss

And I hear them saying you’ll never change things

And no matter what you do it’s still the same thing

But it’s not the world that I am changing

I do this so this world will know that it will not change me

As long as one heart still holds on, then hope is never really gone

I hear them saying you’ll never change things

And no matter what you do it’s still the same thing

But it’s not the world that I am changing

I do this so this world we know never changes me

What I do is so this world will know that it will not change me

Leave a Reply

