Who’s the Best Mommy??

I breastfed all of my children until they were 3 years old. I always made my own organic baby food. I cloth diapered my children and they were potty trained by 18 months. I never let my children watch television and we read the Bible every night. They are in bed by 7 and don’t get up until 8 in the morning. I’m the perfect mom.

Yeah, and if anyone actually believes that, then you don’t know me AT ALL. Haha…

Mommy Wars – the new reality show coming to TLC. Well, not really, but I’m willing to bet that it’s probably a topic that has been broached before and could very well be on our TV sets in a couple of years.

Why is it that moms fall into the trap of comparing ourselves to each other? Do we all wish that we were crafty enough to make all our darling baby clothes? Well, I kind of do, but that’s beside the point. It’s one thing to talk about how we are doing what we think is the right thing for our family, but it’s another to say it in a way that makes other moms feel like they AREN’T doing the right thing. I have fallen victim to this before and I may have been the cause of it a few times too (unintentionally, I can assure you!). I’ll lay it all out there:

I have 3 kids (at the moment, anyway). I read up on natural childbirth and even attended some natural childbirth classes. I fully intended to have a natural childbirth with all of my children. Now ask me how many of them were natural births… Yeah, none of them. I wanted to breastfeed all of my children exclusively for at least 6 months, and maybe even longer if they wanted to. I did breastfeed exclusively, but it was a different length of time for each child. I only did homemade baby food for 2 of my 3 children, and TV?? Well, let’s just say we are on a first name basis with the Fresh Beat Band right now.

One of my facebook friends posted a link to this blog. Now, since I already have 3 children, I have already been a part of the “mommy competitions” that go on (even among friends). I don’t really get phased by what others think and say, but it’s because I have been a rather independent thinker since I was, oh, around 3. (I’m not kidding. Just ask my mom.) I am the kind of person who normally doesn’t give a second thought to what someone thinks about me. However, when I became a mom, that thinking changed a little bit. I know that I don’t know everything about being a mom, but I do have some good experience under my belt now. However, that didn’t really help when someone said something or did something that made me feel inadequate as a mom. I’ve since re-trained my brain and don’t really have issues with it anymore, but I got to thinking (after reading the above article), “Why is this even an issue?” We’re moms, for goodness’ sake! We should all be on each others teams and in each others corners for better, for worse! Motherhood is a badge of honor and we each have taken different roads to get there. We’ve earned it and we should support each other and not try to tear each other down.

I am in agreement with what this person wrote. As a believer, I don’t need to worry so much about what someone else thinks is best for my children. Steven Curtis Chapman has a song out called “Do Everything.” I love it so very much. The chorus includes a line that says, “Do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you.” It shouldn’t matter to us what anyone else thinks about our parenting. As long as we are doing the best that we can do with what we’ve been given, and as long as we are doing it for God’s glory and not for recognition among our “friends,” then we need to realize that we are doing just fine. If you want to hand-sew everything and make homemade baby food and make all these cutesy crafts for your kids’ birthday parties, that is A-Okay in my book. Of course, it’s A-Okay if you don’t want to do any of that as well. Just don’t worry so much about what the other moms think. Do what you know God wants you to do, and leave the rest of it up to Him.

One thought on “Who’s the Best Mommy??

Leave a Reply

